Board/Commission Contact Info

Board of Health:
Dr. Harlan Meyer 

Board of Zoning and Planning:
Brian Marsh
Contact the BZA 

Civil Service Commission:
John Offenberg

Architectural Review Board:
Brian Marsh
Contact the Planning Commission 

Recreation Board:
Cindy Phillips

Tree & Public Gardens Commission:
Susan Quintenz 

Commissions, Boards, and Committees

Bexley's Commissions, Boards, Committees, and Task Forces are comprised of residents who volunteer their time, energy, and expertise to improving the City's built environment, administrative function, and strategic planning efforts.

For Commission and Board vacancies, please visit the Commission and Board Vacancies page of this website.


Architectural Review Board

The Architectural Review Board (ARB) hears applications for exterior architectural changes to residential and commercial properties. The ARB meets the 2nd Thursday of the Month at 6:00pm in City Hall. Please check the online city calendar or check with the Building Department for holiday schedule changes at 559-4240.


Peter Bardwell - Chairperson
Andrew Rosenthal - Vice Chairperson
Bill Heyer
Larry Helman
Suzanne Toney

Alternate Members:
Gary Blumberg
John Behal
Emily Reiser 

To provide comments or feedback to the Commission's members, click here.


Board of Health

The Bexley Board of Health is charged with facilitating and administering public health policy and overseeing the City's contract with the Franklin County Board of Health.  The Board of Health meets on the third Tuesday of the first month of each quarter.  See the City Calendar for more information.

Board of Health Public Documents


Board of Zoning and Planning (BZAP)

The Board of Zoning and Planning hears and renders decisions concerning variance requests, and provides recommendations to council regarding City planning efforts and rezoning.  The Board of Zoning and Planning meets the fourth Thursday of the month at 6:00pm in City Hall.

Brian Marsh - Chairperson
Bob Behal - Vice Chairperson
Eloise Buker
Daniel Ferdelman
David Hodge
Michael Paplow
Jason Fout 

Alternate Members:
Jason Fout
Jan Zupnick
Sean Turner

To provide comments or feedback to the Board's members, click here.


City of Bexley Code of Ethics and Conduct for Elected and Appointed Officials


Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is invested with the power to prescribe, amend, and enforce rules for the classified service. The Civil Service Commission may also promulgate such rules, subject to approval by City Council, as it deems appropriate to promote an efficient civil service system based on merit and fitness. The Civil Service Commission meets the 2nd Wednesday of January, April, July, and October at 5:00pm in City Hall.

Click to read more ...


Recreation Board

The Bexley Board of Recreation consists of five Bexley residents who are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council. Their duties are to oversee the operation of the Recreation Department. The Board of Recreation meets the second Thursday of each month at 5:30pm in Jeffrey Mansion.

Click to read more ...


Tree and Public Gardens Commission

The Tree and Public Gardens Commission consists of five members appointed by the Mayor. The duties of the Commission are to study the problems and determine the needs of the City of Bexley relative to a municipal tree care and tree planting program, develop a written plan for such, and make recommendations to Bexley City Council as to legislation concerning the tree program and activities for the City of Bexley.

For more information on the Tree and Public Gardens Commission, visit the Tree Commission page.

Click to read more ...